Greetings from Mobile, Alabama

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

We drove through the concrete jungle of Dallas / Fort Worth, Texas. I was navigating with the GPS and shooting photos. Ross was at the wheel. Even though I normally love to drive I was glad I didn’t in this highly congested area. “Oh it is not even rush hour”, Ross commented. After the dryness of Texas it was nice to enter Louisiana’s more mysterious and swampy landscapes. We stayed overnight in Shreveport, Louisiana. When we left in the morning we met a man who was flying his little helicopter outside our motel. A great way of starting the day and a nice addition to the many different vehicles on our way. I was excited to cross America’s biggest river. Ross shot one of the barges going down the Mississippi river towards New Orleans. Now we are in Alabama. Our struggle to avoid chain restaurants resulted in dinner at a Mexican restaurant nearby our motel. I got the greenest Margarita I have ever seen (but it tasted good!) and Ross got a chicken enchilada without chili, rice, beans or cheese! That was a first.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. monique rohde
    Jan 15, 2012 @ 10:13:35

    nice crisp photos, and i like your glasses Hanne. No more enchiladas, fish on the menu from now on

    Reply

  2. Mark Bausch
    Jan 15, 2012 @ 12:38:17

    Glad to see you are on your way and things are going smoothly! I see Many familiar sites from my road trips! If you stop in and see me great! If not let me know when you will be approaching Daytona Beach, New Smyrna beach or Ormand Beach or Orlando. I don’t know the route you are taking? Maybe I can intercept you and say hi. My number is 386-265-3166 and address is 430 Quebec Ave, De Leon Springs Fl, 32130. If you stop in to see me I have good foods like humus with sun dried tomatoes, black beans, ground flax seed, garlic and of coarse tahini and garlic. Miso soup and other healthy stuff I can make. Oh and fresh squeezed O.J..
    Hey, if not, that’s OK, maybe on the return?
    Mark

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Hialoakapua's Photostream

More Photos

Stay Connected

Find Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Watch Us on Youtube
Find Us on Flickr Find Us on Flickr Subscribe to the Blog RSS
